PV Sindhu, K Srikanth crowned national champions

While second seed Sindhu defeated Rituparna 21-11 21-17, Srikanth beat Gurusai Dutt 21-13 22-20 to claim their respective titles at the National Badminton Championship.

updated: December 23, 2013 21:20 IST
  • Total Shares

Young shuttlers PV Sindhu and K Srikanth notched up contrasting victories in the summit clashes to clinch the women's and men's titles respectively at the 78th Senior National Badminton Championship in New Delhi on Monday.

It was the second national title for World Championship bronze medalist Sindhu after she registered a straight-game victory over Rituparna Das in the women's singles summit clash which lasted for half an hour.

However, it was a maiden title for Thailand Open Grand Prix Gold winner Srikanth, who dug deep into his reserves to get the better off RMV Gurusai Dutt in a 40-minute men's singles contest.

Show Full Article
  • PV Sindhu
  • Badminton
  • Jwala Gutta
  • Saina Nehwal