Sasikiran lifts National A chess title

Grandmaster K Sasikiran of ONGC lifts the coveted title in the 39th edition of Bharat Petroleum National 'A' Chess Championship.

updated: February 25, 2007 09:27 IST
  • Total Shares


As expected, Grandmaster K Sasikiran of ONGC today annexed the coveted title in the 39th edition of Bharat Petroleum National 'A' Chess Championship, tallying 14.5 points out of a possible 19. GM P Harikrishna (14), lucky to win his last round today, trailed by just half a point margin and finished runner-up. Sasikiran and Harikrishna were richer by Rs 35,000 and Rs 27,000 respectively. International Master S S Ganguly (IOC) and GM Dibyendu Barua (TISCO) were held to a draw in their matches today and finished third and fourth respectively. GM Abhijit Kunte (IOC) settled for a quick draw with IM Neeraj Kumar Mishra (TISCO) to increase his score to 11 points and secure fifth place while IM R B Ramesh (IOC), who got the better of B T Murlikrishna (Railways) was placed sixth. All the top six players have qualified to represent India in international chess competitions. This was a repeat performance of Sasikiran who had won the 1999 edition of the championship also played here. He opened with his king pawn and faced the modern defence of IM V Koshy (ONGC). Sasikiran won a pawn on the 19th move but had to give it back on the 27th move. After recovering the pawn, Koshy offered the draw on the 29th move which Sasikiran refused. On the 40th move when loss of exchange was forced, Koshy resigned. (PTI)