Ranji Trophy moves into its 75th year

The IPL T20 competition may have taken centrestage as the country's most followed domestic competition but the Ranji Trophy has its reason to smile.

updated: July 16, 2009 10:42 IST
  • Total Shares


The cash-rich Indian Premier League T20 competition may have taken centrestage as the country's most followed domestic competition but the age-old Ranji Trophy championship has its reasons to smile in the 2009-10 season.

The national cricket championship, established in pre-Independence days, is moving into its Platinum Jubilee year and the Cricket Board has planned to celebrate it at the beginning of the season, BCCI sources said on Thursday.

"Nothing concrete has been planned but it's going to be celebrated at the start of the season. Things would be finalised over the next few months," the sources indicated.

The first match in the Ranji Trophy was held between the then Madras (now Tamil Nadu) and Mysore (now Karnataka) on November 4, 1934 and resulted in the former completing victory by an innings in a single day at the Chepauk in Chennai, a remarkable piece of statistics especially in these days of instant cricket.

Well-known all rounder AG Ram Singh, whose sons Kripal Singh and Mikha Singh played Tests for India, and CP Johnstone bundled out Mysore for 48 after Madras inserted the opposition in.

Madras replied with 130, with M G Vijayasarathi, who later became a Test umpire, grabbing six wickets.

But then Mysore toppled over for another paltry score of 59 in the second innings, M J Gopalan (3) and Ram Singh (5) sharing the spoils, to give the hosts victory by an innings and 23 runs on the first day itself of the scheduled three-day tie.

Later, Bombay (now Mumbai) commenced the domination of Indian cricket by clinching the title in the very first season of the tournament by defeating Northern India (now split into various units) by 208 runs at home in the final.

Bombay made 266 and 300 while dismissing their rivals for 219 and 139, with HJ Vajifdar grabbing eight for 40.

A total of 16 teams took part in the first season, including Central India, Northern India, Central Provinces and Berar, United Provinces, Sind, Western India and Southern Punjab - all of them defunct now.