Dalmiya gets another term as CAB President

Jagmohan Dalmiya was on Friday elected unopposed as the CAB President at it's 78th Annual General Meeting.

updated: July 31, 2009 16:21 IST
  • Total Shares


Continuing his reign for yet another term, Jagmohan Dalmiya was on Friday elected unopposed as the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) President at it's 78th Annual General Meeting here, that also marked the debut of Sourav Ganguly as a cricket administrator.

Apart from his post Dalmiya also managed to retain his panel of two joint secretaries and treasurer.

Ganguly has been the only highlight of this year's CAB AGM, which has been a widely watched event since 2006 when Dalmiya was locked in a intense fight with then police commissioner Prasun Makherjee, who had the backing of Chief Minister Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee.

The former India captain's emergence as a cricket administrator was termed "healthy and successful" by Minister of State for Tourism, Sultan Ahmed, who is also the president of Mohammedan Sporting club, which Ganguly represented in the AGM.

"He (Ganguly) has given very good advice to CAB in the AGM. In a healthy way we will go forward together, we want Bengal cricket to go forward. Our boys are not getting chances at the senior level which is a point of concern. We have discussed all this and it was very successful," Ahmed told reporters after the meeting.

"He (Ganguly) said there are many veteran cricketers who have not been given chance," he said.

Ahmed said Ganguly also highlighted the removal of former coach Utpal Chatterjee, who was instrumental in Bengal's re-entry into Elite Group last season.

"The CAB has decided to send Chatterjee a letter of thanks for his effort last season. Ganguly has given very good ideas regarding cricket and which are really appreciated," he said.

"Ganguly has given his advice on coaching as well as the running of the administration. His entry will definitely benefit Bengal cricket. About giving additional responsibility to Ganguly, Dalmiya has requested the former cricketer to sit with him to discuss future role for him," he added.

Visibly satisfied with his participation in the AGM, Ganguly, who arrived in his BMW sporting a stripe shirt and a cream colour suit said, "It was a new role for me. I am happy and looking forward to it."

Asked what points did he highlight at the AGM, the left-hander said, "I have made the points what I had to on the floor. There is nothing to discuss about that here."

While the President, the two joint secretaries (Arun Mitra and Biswarup Dey) and treasurer (Subir Ganguly) were elected unopposed, five others contested for the four vice-president slots.

Sitting vice-presidents Shibkumar Kalyani, Samar Kar, Timir Ghosh and Shibaji Dutta contested against Abhijit Dutta, the result of which is yet to be declared.