Rajasthan Royals buy out Kaif's contract

Mohammad Kaif's contract has been bought out by Rajasthan Royals and he has been added to the Tuesday's IPL auction pool.

updated: January 19, 2010 17:32 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

Team India discard Mohammad Kaif's contract has been bought out by Rajasthan Royals and he has been added to the Tuesday's IPL auction pool. He has been put in the second pool alongside Shane Bond, Wayne Parnell and Eion Morgan.

Ricky Ponting has confirmed that he will not be part of the IPL. Ponting's contract has also been bought out by Kolkata Knight Riders, which means they are now free to replace him with another player.

The IPL Player Auction on will have in total 67 players from all 9 Test playing nations with 11 players from Pakistan, Australia and South Africa; nine from Sri Lanka; eight from England and West Indies; four from New Zealand and one each from Bangladesh, Canada, Zimbabwe and Holland.

Each franchise have a maximum of $750,000 for buying new players. The playesr, who will be under the hammer on Tuesday, will be contracted just for a year as next year every player will be available for auction.

Among all the players, Shahid Afridi, Graeme Swann and Brad Haddin are the costliest with their base price of $250,000.

The auction would start at 12:00 noon on Tuesday, Lalit Modi has announced on his twitter page that there would be 8 pools during the auction:

First Pool: Shahid Afridi, Graeme Swann, Brad Haddin (All with a base price of USD 250,000) and Kieron Polland (Base price of $200,000)

Second Pool: Eion Morgan, Wayne Parnell (Both with a base price of USD 200,000), Shane Bond and Mohammad Kaif (Both with a base price of $100,000)

Third Pool: Doug Bollinger, Sohail Tanvir (Base price of $200,000 each), Umar Akmal, Shakib Al Hasan, Tim Bresnan, Darren Ganga, Justin Kemp and Nuwan Kulasekera (Base price of $100,000)

Fourth Pool: Kamran Akmal, Wavell Hinds, Phil Hughes, Damien Martyn, Imran Nazir, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Chamara Silva, Lendl Simmons, Upul Tharanga, and Jonathan Trott (Base price of $100,000 each)

Fifth Pool: Suleiman Benn, Grant Elliott, Naved ul hasan (Base price of USD 100,000 each), Tyron Henderson, Rory Kleinveldt, Jason Krejza, Nathan McCullum, Thissara Perera, Vaughn van der warth (Base price of USD 50,000) and Ashley Noffke (Base Price of USD 20,000)

Sixth Pool: Abdul Razzaq (Base Price USD 100,000), Rizwan Cheema, Zander de Bruyn, Chinthaka Jayasinghe, Graham Manou, Anthony Mcgrath, Vernon Philander, Morne van Wyk, Adam Voges (Base price of USD 50,000 each) and Ryan ten Doeschate (Base Price of USD 20,000)

Seventh Pool: Mohammad Aamer, Saeed Ajmal, Umar Gul (Base Price of USD 100,000 each) Nuwan Zoysa, Yusuf Abdulla, Clint Mckay, Monty Panesar, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Welegedara (Base price of USD 50,000 each) Ben Laughlin and Kaushalya Weeraratne (Base Price of USD 20,000 each)

Eighth Pool: Mark Ramprakash (Base Price of USD 200,000) Misbah ul Haq (Base Price of USD 100,000) Darren Bravo, Murray Goodwin, Thilina Kandamby, Robert Key, Luke Pomersbach, Vaughn van Jaarsved, Lou Vincent (Base Price of USD 50,000 each)