Cuttack finalised as Deccan home venue

IPL announced that post a series of discussions and at the request of the DC to host matches in their catchment area to help build a strong fan base.

updated: February 16, 2010 17:16 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

Indian Premier League authorities on Tuesday allotted two of Deccan Chargers' home matches to their catchment area Cuttack to placate the franchise which had threatened to boycott the event after their home matches were shifted out of Andhra Pradesh because of political turmoil.

After a series of discussion and "at the request of the Deccan Chargers franchise to host matches in their catchment area", two matches have been scheduled in Cuttack.

According to the revised schedule, defending champion Deccan Chargers will play Kings XI Punjab in Cuttack on March 19 and Delhi Daredevils two days later at the same venue.

"The revised IPL schedule has been worked out keeping in mind the catchment area of the Deccan Chargers franchise," IPL chairman Lalit Modi said in a statement.

"The solution was worked out keeping in mind the sentiments of the cricket loving fans of the franchise. The revised schedule now includes the Barabati Stadium at Cuttack as a host venue and I hope that Deccan Chargers fans will come out in large numbers to support their team," said the IPL chief.

The IPL authorities had shifted the Chargers' home matches from Hyderabad and Visakhapatnam, citing the ongoing Telengana agitation as the reason.

The decision did not go down well with the franchise, which served a legal notice on IPL yesterday and threatened to skip IPL if their home matches were not re-allotted to their initial venues.

The final revised schedule:

12 Mar Deccan Chargers vs Kolkata Knight Riders (D.Y. Patil, IPL 2010 Season Opener)

19 Mar Deccan Chargers vs Kings XI Punjab (Cuttack)

21 Mar Deccan Chargers vs Delhi Daredevils (Cuttack)

28 Mar Deccan Chargers vs Mumbai Indian (D.Y. Patil)

5 Apr Deccan Chargers vs Rajasthan Royals (Nagpur)

10 Apr Deccan Chargers vs Chennai Super Kings (Nagpur)

12 Apr Deccan Chargers vs Royal Challengers Bangalore (Nagpur)