Rookie all-rounder Christian in Oz T20 squad for NZ series

Australia included Daniel Christian in their 15-member Twenty20 squad but made no change to their one-day side for the tour of New Zealand.

updated: February 18, 2010 10:02 IST
  • Total Shares


Australia on Thursday included rookie all-rounder Daniel Christian in their 15-member Twenty20 squad but made no change to their one-day side for the tour of New Zealand starting February 26.

The 26-year-old Christian became only the second player of aboriginal heritage, after pacer Jason Gillespie, to be selected in Australia's national team.

The Twenty20 squad, to be captained by Michael Clarke, also includes spinner Nathan Hauritz, who has been rewarded for his fine performance in the Test and ODI arena in the past few months.

"The NSP today announced a 15-man squad for the two Twenty20 games in New Zealand. The squad is the same as that which will compete in the final two Twenty20 Internationals against the West Indies in Australia, but also includes Nathan Hauritz," said Australia's selection chief Andrew Hilditch said in a statement.

"Nathan has proven himself to be our best spinner in Test and one-day cricket and with the important role spin plays in Twenty20 cricket, Nathan deserves the chance to try and establish himself in Australia's Twenty20 side ahead of the ICC World Twenty20 in the Caribbean."

The one-day squad, to be led by Ricky Ponting, has not been tinkered with. The Test squad for two matches between March 19 to 31 would be announced later.

"Australia's one-day side has enjoyed virtually unparalleled success in ODIs over the last 10 months with series victories in the UAE, England, at the ICC Champions Trophy in South Africa, in India and the two home series against Pakistan and the West Indies," Hilditch said.

Twenty20 squad: Michael Clarke (Captain), Cameron White (Vice-captain), Travis Birt, Daniel Christian, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, David Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Dirk Nannes, Steven Smith, Shaun Tait, David Warner, Shane Watson.

ODI squad: Ricky Ponting (Captain), Michael Clarke (Vice-captain), Doug Bollinger, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Ryan Harris, James Hopes, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Shaun Marsh, Clint McKay, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.