Ross Taylor unavailable as New Zealand announce Test squad for South Africa; Van Wyk dropped, Fulton included

The 15-man New Zealand team for the South Africa was declared on Friday. Brendon McCullum is the captain. Veteran batsman Peter Fulton has been recalled to the New Zealand squad after a three-year absence and will vie with Australian-born Dean Brownlie to replace former captain Ross Taylor in the batting lineup.

updated: December 07, 2012 16:35 IST
  • Total Shares

Wellington: Wicketkeeper Kruger van Wyk has missed the chance to play test cricket in his native country after being omitted from the New Zealand team to tour South Africa later this month.

Despite averaging 21 and making 24 dismissals in nine tests since his debut against South Africa in New Zealand last year, van Wyk lost his place to another South African-born player, B.J. Watling.

Watling, who has played just one test for New Zealand, was favored by selectors for his superior batting ability. He has been sidelined with a hip injury since his wicketkeeping debut for New Zealand last summer.

Show Full Article