India trounce Pakistan to win T20 World Cup for blind

For India, Ketan Bhai Patel hit a hurricane 98, while Prakash Jayaramaiah contributed 42 and vice-captain Ajay Kumar Reddy 25, while for Pakistan Mohammed Jameel posted a breezy 47, Ali Murthaza 38 and Mohammed Akram 32.

updated: December 13, 2012 23:30 IST
  • Total Shares

Bangalore: In a surcharged atmosphere with all the trappings of any game between the arch-rivals, India trounced Pakistan by 30 runs in a thrilling final of the T20 World Cup for the blind here on Thursday.

Putting behind its eight-wicket loss to Pakistan in a league tie Dec 7, India took full advantage of batting first despite losing the toss to set an imposing target of 259 and restricting the rival team to 228 for eight wickets in the stipulated 20 overs.

Though India began on high note with opener Prakash Jayaramaiah (partially blind) scoring 14 off the very first over, the sudden exit of vice-captain Ajay Kumar Reddy (partial vision) when he was clean bowled by Zeeshan Abbasi seemed to set off a panic in the ranks.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket
  • India
  • Lord's, London