Cash award for blind T20 World Cup boys from Karnataka

Appreciating Shettar's gesture, World Blind Cricket Council vice-president G.K. Mahantesh said the state government had been very generous in granting funds to the trust for organising the T20 World Cup in Bangalore.

updated: December 14, 2012 23:24 IST
  • Total Shares

Bangalore: Three players from Karnataka, who were part of the Indian team that won the T20 World Cup for the blind by thrashing Pakistan Thursday, will receive Rs.300,000 cash award from the state government.

"The state government will also consider allotting land to build a playground for the blind cricketers, as requested by the T20 World Cup organiser - Samarthanam Trust for the disabled," Chief Minister Jagadish Shettar said after felicitating the entire winning team at his official residence here Friday.

The three players from Karnataka are Shekar Naik from Shimoga, Prakash Jayaramaiah from Chennapatna and S.Ravi from Davangere.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket
  • India
  • Lord's, London