Sanath Jayasuriya appointed as chairman of Sri Lanka selection panel

The new selection panel is part of sports minister Mahindananda Aluthgamage's initiative to improve the country's international standing, particularly in Tests in which Sri Lanka is currently placed a lowly sixth.

updated: January 28, 2013 20:00 IST
  • Total Shares

Colombo: Sri Lanka have revamped their cricket selection panel with a new team under new chairman, Sanath Jayasuriya, the country's sports ministry announced in Colombo on Monday.

Jayasuriya, a former national captain and a current government parliamentarian, will have Hemantha Wickramaratne, Pramodaya Wickremasinghe, Chaminda Mendis and Eric Upashantha as co-members of the panel.

Wickramaratne, a former ODI player, is the only surviving member from the outgoing panel headed by former Test fast bowler Asantha de Mel.

Show Full Article