India Under-19 annihilate Australia to clinch tri-nation series in Darwin

After MS Dhoni scripted India's thrilling win in Port-of Spain, the under-19 team destroyed their Australian counterparts Down Under. India's bowlers ran amok as the hosts were shot out for 75 in less than 25 overs.

updated: July 12, 2013 15:24 IST
  • Total Shares

Less than eight hours after Mahendra Singh Dhoni scripted a thrilling one-wicket victory against Sri Lanka in Port of Spain, Trinidad on Thursday, India's under-19 team added to the glory with a comprehensive eight-wicket victory against Australia in the final of the three-nation championship in Darwin. New Zealand were the third team in the competition.

India's bowlers fashioned victory with the pace quartet of Abhimanyu Lamba, Chama Milind, Deepak Hooda and Kuldeep Yadav knocking off the Aussie batsmen in less than 25 overs. Australia were put into bat at the Marrara Cricket Ground in Darwin and after a decent start, lost wickets in a hurry.

Left-arm seamer Milind gave India the breakthrough in the eighth over and the floodgates opened. Opener Matthew Short was Australia's top scorer with 25 and the next best was a 13 from Jake Doran. Player of the Match Hooda finished with 3 for 22 while Lamba, Milind and Yadav picked up two wickets each.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket
  • Vijay Hari Zol
  • Abhimanyu Randhirsingh Lamba