BCCI throws Sehwag, Gambhir, Yuvraj and Zaheer India 'A' lifeline

The ODI and four-day games against West Indies A starting from September 25 will give several Indian discards to impress the national stars ahead of a long international season.

updated: September 10, 2013 20:45 IST
  • Total Shares

India A squads for the one-dayers and four-day games against touring West Indies A side have been announced. While Yuvraj Singh has been named the skipper for one-dayers, Cheteshwar Pujara will lead India 'A' in whites.

The series also marks the return for Gautam Gambhir, Virender Sehwag and Zaheer Khan for the second and third four-day matches. Yuvraj, Gambhir, Sehwag and Zaheer will be aiming to win back their Team India berths they had lost either due to form or fitness worries. Another interesting name in the four-day format is former India star Mohammed Kaif.

The three one-dayers and the lone T20, starting September 15, are scheduled to be played at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru. The venues for the four-day games, starting September 25, are at relatively unknown cricket grounds in Mysore, Shimoga and Hubli -- all in Karnataka.

Show Full Article