Rangana Herath pips Kumar Sangakkara to claim Sri Lanka Cricketer of year award

Rangana Herath took 46 Test wickets in the qualification period, while ICC Cricketer of the year, Kumar Sangakkara hit 441 runs in two Tests in 2013.

updated: September 11, 2013 19:40 IST
  • Total Shares

Sri Lanka's left-arm spinner Rangana Herath has been named as the country's Cricketer of the year for the first time. Herath, currently ranked fourth in Test bowlers rankings, pipped former skipper Kumar Sangakkara for the coveted award for 2012-13 season.

Herath and Sangakkara, meanwhile, highlighted most of the other awards in a Sri Lanka Cricket ceremony. Where Herath bagged the Test bowler of the year award, Sangakkara won the Test batsman of the year and the people's choice award for the fourth time in-a-row.

During the period under consideration Herath scalped 46 Test wickets at an impressive bowling average of 22.13 and topped the wickets tally in 2012. Earlier this year in March during the Bangladesh series, Herath became the third Sri Lankan after Muttiah Muralitharan and Chaminda Vaas to bag 200 Test wickets.

Show Full Article