N. Srinivasan files nomination for BCCI president's post; three new faces as Arun Jaitley, Niranjan Shah exit as vice-presidents

N. Srinivasan has chosen his 'cabinet' as the Tamil Nadu strongman seeks a year's extension as BCCI president in the Board's Annual General Meeting in Chennai on Sunday. Rajeev Shukla, Ravi Savant and S.K. Bansal will be the new vice-presidents replacing Sudhir Dabir, Niranjan Shah and Arun Jaitley, respectively.

updated: September 28, 2013 16:50 IST
  • Total Shares

N.Srinivasan, who is seeking to extend his run as Board of Control for Cricket in India president for a year at Sunday's Annual General Meeting in Chennai, has chosen his 'team' to run the Board's affairs for the next 12 months. According to the panel submitted by Srinivasan, whose two-year regular tenure comes to an end this month, Arun Jaitley, Niranjan Shah and Sudhir Dabir have been replaced as vice-presidents.

Ravi Savant of Mumbai, who was the stop-gap treasurer after Ajay Shirke resigned in the wake of the Indian Premier League corruption scandal, S.K. Bansal of Delhi and Rajeev Shukla of Uttar Pradesh are the new faces. Shukla finds himself back in the BCCI top brass after having resigned as IPL chairman earlier this year.

The BCCI has five vice-presidents each representing the five zones of the country. Chitrak Mitra of Bengal (East Zone) and Shivlal Yadav of Hyderabad (South Zone) have been given an year's extension. Sources say Dabir of Vidarbha and Shah of Saurashtra were not keen on an extension. Dabir is a close confidant of former BCCI president Shashank Manohar, whose name was doing the rounds as Srinivasan's opponent. Sources said Shah had recently become "anti-Srinivasan" and therefore opted out.

Show Full Article