Cheteshwar Pujara named ICC's Emerging Cricketer of the Year

Cheteshwar Pujara became the second fastest Indian to get to 1000 Test runs, during the course of his double hundred against Australia in March at Hyderabad, where he put on a 370-run record second-wicket partnership with Murali Vijay. The 25-year-old Pujara has 1310 runs in 15 Tests at an average of 65.50.

updated: December 13, 2013 15:26 IST
  • Total Shares

Dubai: Rising Test batsman Cheteshwar Pujara bagged the 'Emerging Cricketer of the Year' trophy as India had to be content with just two winners in the ICC annual awards announced on Friday in which Australian captain Michael Clarke clinched the top honours. India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the People's Choice award.

"Australia captain Michael Clarke was today announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year and was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year," the ICC said in a statement.

The announcement was made ahead of the broadcast of the Awards TV show which premieres on Saturday in most countries across the globe. "The show is hosted by former Australia captain Ricky Ponting who won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy in 2006 and 2007, ICC Test Cricketer of the Year in 2006 and was appointed captain of ICC's ODI Team of the Year in 2007, 2008 and 2010," the ICC stated.

Show Full Article