Sri Lankan cricketers get pay hike in new contracts

The senior players -- Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Nuwan Kulasekara, Angelo Mathews, Rangana Herath and Dinesh Chandimal -- are in the top category. Chandimal, the T20 captain, has won a promotion from category 2. In category 2 are Lahiru Thirimanne and Ajantha Mendis.

updated: February 28, 2014 18:27 IST
  • Total Shares

Colombo: Sri Lanka Cricket, which had a bitter dispute with its players over payments last year, has announced a seven per cent hike for them across all categories in its latest list of contracts issued here.

The National Selection Committee on Thursday announced the names of 17 contracted players for the year 2014-15. They belong to four categories.

In addition, three players -- Prasanna Jayawardena, the Tillakaratne Dilshan and Lasith Malinga -- have been placed on a special category.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket