ICC World Twenty20: Four tournaments, four winners and some amazing stats

The ICC World Twenty20 started in 2007 with a bang. Yuvraj Singh slammed six sixes in an over and India won the inaugural edition beating Pakistan in a thrilling final. The four editions of the championship have produced some interesting stats.

updated: March 14, 2014 17:02 IST
  • Total Shares

The fifth edition of the ICC World Twenty20 Championship is all set to start from March 16 in Bangladesh. There is no consistency of a team winning the championship with the game itself being unpredictable. The results were also unpredictable as the four editions were won by different teams. The first edition was won by India, second by Pakistan, third by England and the fourth by West Indies.

ICC World Twenty20South Africa2007/08India
ICC World Twenty20England2009Pakistan
ICC World Twenty20West Indies2010England
ICC World Twenty20Sri Lanka2012West Indies

Here are some interesting statistical highlights:

# Pakistan have played most games in the tournament - 26 and is followed by Sri Lanka which have played 25. These are the only two teams which have played 25-plus matches in the competition.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket