N. Srinivasan 'exit' will see new equations in a fluid BCCI; Will Sharad Pawar call the shots again?

Come September, it will be East Zone's turn to choose a 'new' BCCI president. If the Supreme Court continues to keep N. Srinivasan in 'suspended' mode, a Sharad Pawar-Jagmohan Dalmiya-Shashank Manohar alliance can't be ruled out.

updated: March 29, 2014 15:41 IST
  • Total Shares

Come September, several 'power' equations are expected to change in the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). With N. Srinivasan's position in the Board becoming increasingly fuzzy, new 'lobbies' would have started working behind the scenes already. Former president Jagmohan Dalmiya has already urged for a 'clean' BCCI and Sharad Pawar, another ex-BCCI chief is also speaking on similar lines.

In BCCI, there are no permanent friends or enemies. Most elections are situational dramas where 'forces' join hands to 'overthrow' the common adversary. The constitution provides for a president to be elected on a rotational basis and finally, the affiliated units comprising a zone decide the 'fate' of a candidate. For example, when Srinivasan got a year's extension as BCCI president in September last year, all six South Zone units 'voted' for him. Come September 2014, it will be East Zone's turn to choose a president. (Also read: BCCI accepts Supreme Court's interim order, to work out modalities)

Technically, Srinivasan can stand as BCCI president again. He must then have the majority of the East Zone units voting for him. As of today, Srinivasan is in pole position to get a nomination from East. Out of the six votes, he is probably assured of four - Orissa, Jharkhand, Tripura and Assam. Bengal and National Cricket Club, a bastion of Dalmiya, are undecided. A look at the current top positions in the BCCI committees will see officials from Orissa, Jharkhand, Tripura and Assam occupying plum positions in the Board. Ranjib Biswal (Orissa) is the IPL chairman while Amitabh Choudhary (Jharkhand) is the chairman of the Board's very important marketing committee.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket