ICC World Twenty20 final: Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene get rousing send-off as Sri Lanka win maiden crown

A huge celebration followed on the ground after Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets in the ICC World Twenty20 final at Mirpur on Sunday. It was the last time when two of Sri Lanka's most celebrated players Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene were representing their country in an international T20 game.

updated: April 06, 2014 23:25 IST
  • Total Shares

Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene were given a great send-off as Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets in the 2014 ICC World Twenty20 tournament final at Mirpur, which witnessed a totally different Sangakkara from what fans saw throughout the tournament till the final. The wicketkeeper-batsman, who will retire from international T20 cricket along with Mahela Jayawardene played his last T20I final, scored an impressive 55 runs off 42 balls to take his team through. (Highlights)

Adjudged the Man of the Match in the final for his performance, Sangakkara was happy to finally get the monkey off his back following a string of poor batting displays and was relieved that Sri Lanka broke the jinx by finally finishing as winners in their third World T20 final appearance.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket