Imran Khan's Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf launches cricket tournament, 'Love 20 League'

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, Imran Khan's political party, wants Pakistan Cricket Board to release national players for its Love 20 League championship in May-June.

updated: April 29, 2014 17:13 IST
  • Total Shares

Lahore: Cricketer-turned-politician Imran Khan's party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf has launched a cricket tournament called Love 20 League. The name of the tournament has created mixed reactions in social media with one (@AliAkbarnaqV) tweeting: "The Love 20 league may just have the most repulsive name for any sporting event. Sounds like a cheap contraceptive." (Click here for latest on Cricket)

The World Cup-winning Imran, arguably Pakistan's most respected captain, has reportedly obtained a "no objection" from the Pakistan Cricket Board to host the T20 tournament between May 18 to June 3. Originally, the league was scheduled between May 3-18. To be held in five cities, including Karachi, Lahore and Peshawar, Imran's party has requested the PCB to release top players from the national camp to participate in his tournament. Pakistan's Test skipper Misbah-ul-Haq and former captains Shahid Afridi and Younis Khan are expected to play. (Also read: Saqlain, Waqar in race for job of Pakistan coach)

Show Full Article
  • Cricket