Cardiff set to host Ashes opener in 2015

England and Wales Cricket Board on Monday announced the full international programme for the summer of 2015 which will see England host tours by New Zealand and Australia.

updated: May 12, 2014 13:32 IST
  • Total Shares

Cardiff's SWALEC stadium will host the opening Ashes Test Match of the five-match series as it did in 2009 when England's last pair James Anderson and Monty Panesar clung on for a famous draw on the final day of a gripping Ashes encounter.

Lord's, Edgbaston, Trent Bridge and The Oval will also stage Investec Test Matches as England bid to regain the famous Ashes urn and win a fourth successive home Ashes series following their previous triumphs in 2005, 2009 and 2013.

After the Ashes, England and Australia will do battle again in a NatWest IT20 at SWALEC stadium before the international season reaches its climax in September with The Ageas Bowl, Lord's, Old Trafford and Headingley hosting matches in the Royal London One-Day International series.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket