Lok Sabha Elections 2014: Cricket's Stars Fail to Twinkle!

Former India cricket star Mohammed Kaif and ex-Test captain Mohammed Azharuddin, both Congress candidates, lost in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections while former BCCI vice-president Arun Jaitley of BJP failed to woo voters.

updated: May 16, 2014 21:40 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi: Cricket's charisma clearly did not work for Congress in the Lok Sabha elections 2014. For the BJP, it was partially successful, the glorious uncertainties of the game notwithstanding. The anti-Congress wave stumped two of India's finest cricketers - Mohammed Azharuddin and Mohammed Kaif. The pro-BJP mood may have swept the oppositions of its feet but left former cricket Board honcho Arun Jaitley high and dry.

Kirti Azad, a member of the 1983 World Cup-winning side, was the only man who saved cricket's face. The BJP veteran and former off-spinner spun his magic web in his favourite hunting ground, Darbhanga, a constituency which has made him third time successful.

Congress' strategy to play Azharuddin on a new wicket backfired badly on the stylish Hyderabadi batsman. One of India's most successful captains, Azharuddin made his political debut five years back, winning the Moradabad seat in Uttar Pradesh. The voters of Tonk-Sawai Madhopur were simply no impressed. Azhar's personal charisma was not good enough to 'score' votes.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket