Indian Premier League: Power-Hitters Fail to Impress in Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab Final

When Kolkata Knight Riders battled Kings XI Punjab for the IPL title, the highly-rated batsmen of both sides - Robin Uthappa, Virender Sehwag, Glenn Maxwell and David Miller - failed to light up the Bangalore night sky, leaving die-hard fans surprised.

updated: June 01, 2014 23:38 IST
  • Total Shares

Four of the top-seven run scorers in IPL 2014 featured in the title clash. Yet when Kolkata Knight Riders took on Kings XI Punjab, these men - for all their mammoth scores through the course of the tournament - failed to fire when it mattered most. Kolkata managed to beat Punjab however to win their second IPL title in three years. (Scorecard | Match Highlights)

Robin Uthappa, Glenn Maxwell, Virender Sehwag and David Miller have collectively scored 2113 runs in IPL 7. On Sunday, each of them came out to bat for their respective teams with a lot of promise for fireworks. Collectively, they scored just 13 runs - a shocking finale to an otherwise sensational performance.

While Uthappa - who finished with the purple cap courtesy 660 runs - could manage just five runs, Sehwag (7), Maxwell (0) and Miller (1*) were earlier conspicuous by their 'silent' batting at Bangalore's M Chinnaswamy Stadium. Even Gautam Gambhir - KKR skipper with three fifties in the tournament - scored 23 before falling at a crucial stage in the match.

Show Full Article
  • Cricket