ICC gives Netherlands, Nepal T20 International Status

Netherlands and Nepal had both qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

updated: June 28, 2014 16:22 IST
  • Total Shares
Netherlands had qualified for the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.


The International Cricket Council, under the chairmanship of Narayanaswami Srinivasan, met on June 27 and 28 during the ICC Annual Conference week in Melbourne. Among the decisions made, the ICC Board agreed to give T20I status to the Netherlands and Nepal, both of which qualified for the World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.

This means there are now eight Associate sides with T20I status. The other six are Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea (PNG) and United Arab Emirates (UAE) which already have T20I status by virtue of having ODI status. (Also read: Srinivasan under fire from Australian media)

The ICC Board noted the significant progress made on the Future Tours Programme (FTP) that has been extended through to 2023 and expressed satisfaction that there was now more certainty around long-term scheduling with a reasonable balance between home and away matches for all 10 teams as well as between the three formats.

Show Full Article