Clarke and Gilchrist hold Aussie innings

Australia ended the day at 316 for 5 on day one of the first Test against India at the Chennaswami Stadium in Bangalore today.

updated: February 25, 2007 10:07 IST
  • Total Shares


Australia ended the day at 316 for 5 on day one of the first Test against India at the Chennaswami Stadium in Bangalore today. Michael Clarke is still batting at the crease on 76 along with Adam Gilchrist who was unbeaten on 35. The Indian spinners put some pressure on the visitors earlier in the day, picking up regular wickets in the first few sessions. Spinners strike India had their first breakthrough when Harbhajan Singh returning to international cricket after a six-month layoff picked up the dangerous Mathew Hayden for just 26, caught sweeping at square leg by Yuvraj Singh. Justin Langer (52) was beginning to look dangerous at the crease, but then Irfan Pathan struck with a brilliant delivery that uprooted Langer’s off stump. Anil Kumble then struck and this time, Damien Martyn (3) was caught by Akash Chopra. Kumble then struck again and this time dismissed Darren Lehmann (17), caught by Dravid. Steady start Australia earlier made a steady start to the first Test in the Border Gavaskar series against India in Bangalore. Stand-in-captain Adam Gilchrist won the toss and had no hesitation in electing to bat on a dry pitch. Openers Justin Langer and Mathew Hayden blunted the Indian opening attack of Irfan Pathan and Zaheer Khan before Bhajji struck. At stake for India is a chance to get to second place in the Test rankings with a series win, while Australia are looking for their first Test series win in India in 35 years. Yuvraj replaces Sachin India went into the match without Sachin Tendulkar who is recuperating from tennis elbow while Australia missed their captain Ricky Ponting who has been ruled out of the first two of four Tests due to a thumb injury. Yuvraj Singh comes in place of Tendulkar while Australia handed Michael Clarke his first baggy green cap. Aussie leg spinner Shane Warne is aiming to surpass Muttiah Muralitharan as world's highest wicket-taker in Tests. He is six short of Sri Lankan's tally of 532. Teams: India: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Aakash Chopra, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, VVS Laxman, Yuvraj Singh, Parthiv Patel, Irfan Pathan, Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble. Australia: Adam Gilchrist (captain), Matthew Hayden, Justin Langer, Simon Katich, Damien Martyn, Darren Lehmann, Michael Clarke, Shane Warne, Brett Lee, Jason Gillespie, Michael Kasprowicz and Glenn McGrath.
(With PTI inputs)