Gutsy Central Zone Take on Fiery South Zone in Duleep Trophy Final

While Central's spin duo of leggie Karn Sharma and chinaman Kuldeep Yadav have left, South will be missing as many as four players in Stuart Binny, Karun Nair, Manish Pandey and Sanju Samson. Samson, however was not in the playing XI in the last match.

updated: October 28, 2014 17:37 IST
  • Total Shares
Piyush Chawla in action
Piyush Chawla in action for India.

New Delhi: A talented Central Zone team led by Piyush Chawla is aiming to come out firing all cylinders when it square off with an equally combative South Zone side in the final of the Duleep Trophy, starting here on Wednesday.

While South Zone crushed East by an innings and 118 runs on a seaming track at Lahli, Central also deflated a very powerful North Zone on a batting paradise at Mohali in their respective semi-final matches.

It will be a battle of attrition between South Zone's Robin Uthappa and Central's Naman Ojha, both of whom scored contrasting match-winning centuries in their respective last four clashes.

Show Full Article