Pakistan Cricket Board Names U-21 Women's Tourney After Malala

Malala, on October 10, became the youngest individual to win the Nobel Prize, sharing the honour with India's Kailash Satyarthi.

updated: October 31, 2014 17:23 IST
  • Total Shares
Malala medal PCB
Malala holds aloft her Liberty Medal in Philadephia on October 21.

© AP

The Pakistan Cricket Board, on the initiative of its chairman Shaharyar Khan, has named the country's inaugural Under-21 women's championship after Malala Yousafzai, Pakistan's young Nobel laureate for peace 2014. With 12 regional teams participating, 168 cricketers will get an opportunity to showcase their talent.

"The Nobel Prize for Peace for young Malala is a great honour for the entire nation. Not only has it given Pakistan's image a huge boost, to the young women in this country, and our women's cricket team in particular, it provides inspiration and stimulus to excel.

Show Full Article