Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Virat Kohli Among 4 Indians in ICC ODI Team of the Year; Double Whammy for Mitchell Johnson

Mahendra Singh Dhoni was named captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year, Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami complete the Indian quartet. There are no Indians in the Test Team of the Year

Updated: November 14, 2014 14:21 IST
  • Total Shares
MS Dhoni skipper 14
File photo of Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

© AP

Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli are among four Indians named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year named by the game's governing body on Friday. Mohammed Shami figures among the pacers while the world's highest ODI run-getter Rohit Sharma has been named the 12th man. Dhoni is the captain. (Also read: Virat Kohli in star-studded line-up of ICC World Cup 2015 ambassadors)

There are no Indians or Pakistanis in the ODI Test squad. Interestingly, Sri Lanka's Angelo Mathews has been made captain of the Test team and there are two more Lankans - Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath - in the star-studded line-up.

Australia fast bowler Mitchell Johnson was announced as the winner of the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy for ICC Cricketer of the Year. The 33-year-old was also named as the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year. Johnson is also the third Australian after Ricky Ponting (2006) and Michael Clarke (2013) to win the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year award.

Show Full Article