England beat India, win series 4-3

England beat India by seven wickets in the seventh and final one-dayer to win the ODI series 4-3 at the Lord's on Saturday.

updated: September 12, 2007 17:37 IST
  • Total Shares


England beat India by seven wickets in the seventh and final one-dayer to win the ODI series 4-3 at the Lord's on Saturday.

England overhauled the winning target of 188 in just 36.2 overs. Kevin Pietersen and Paul Collingwood remained unbeaten on 71 and 64, respectively. The two put on an unbeaten partnership of 114 runs.

Earlier, Dhoni stood tall amongst the ruins as India was bowled out for a paltry 187 in 47.3 overs after skippper Rahul Dravid won the toss and elected to bat.

Pietersen was adjudged Man of the Match and Ian Bell got the Man of the Series award.

Poor umpiring

India paid for some poor batting and two exceptionally bad umpiring decisions.

The visitors got off to a shaky start with James Anderson testing Sourav Ganguly with the short delivery. The southpaw lived dangerously and skied many a delivery that fell safely. But Anderson had the last word when he had him caught by Andrew Flintoff at slip for 15.

Anderson then removed Gautam Gambhir. Luke Wright took a brilliant catch just inches off the ground to send him back for 12.

Two contentious umpiring decisions helped Flintoff, back from an injury layoff, to pick up two priceless wickets in quick succession.

Dravid was caught behind by Matt Prior for naught. Replays, however, showed that the ball had not nicked the bat. The second was Sachin Tendulkar. He also was given caught behind for 30. India was then 59 for four in the 16th over.

Yuvraj and Robin Uthappa stemmed the rot, but only for a short period. They put on 47 runs to take India past the 100-run mark before Dmitri Mascarenhas had the latter caught by Anderson for 22.

Mascarenhas, who had smashed five consecutive sixes off Yuvraj in the sixth ODI, had the Chandigarh lad caught by Paul Collingwood for 28. Romesh Powar followed him to the pavillion, run out for 10.

Piyush Chawla was then stumped by Prior off a Mascarenhas delivery to leave India in tatters. Monty Panesar bowled Zaheer Khan for seven.

Dhoni continued to wage a lone battle. He hit some lusty blows and brought up his 14th ODI fifty. He fell trying to force the scoring, caught by Anderson off Flintoff for 50.

For England, Flintoff and Mascarenhas took three wickets each, while Anderson took one.

Early strikes

England was also dealt early blows when RP Singh, who replaced Ajit Agarkar, sent back the openers in his first over.

He held on to a catch off his own bowling to dismiss Luke Wright for naught and then had Matt Prior caught by Dhoni, also for zero.

Pietersen and Ian Bell then steadied the innings before the latter was run out for 36. The two put on 63 runs.

KP was joined by his skipper and in the absence of an incisive attack or the need to go for a big total, played patiently. They kept their cool and made sure England got home without any further hiccups.

India finish their two-month long tour on a mixed note. They won the Test series and came close in the ODI series levelling it 3-3 before being outplayed in the last match.

The teams:

India: Sachin Tendulkar, Sourav Ganguly, Robin Uthappa, Gautam Gambhir, Rahul Dravid, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Ramesh Powar, Piyush Chawla, Zaheer Khan, RP Singh.

England: Matt Prior, Luke Wright, Ian Bell, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood, Owais Shah, Andrew Flintoff, Dmitri Mascarenhas, Stuart Broad, Monty Panesar, James Anderson.