Afridi, Gul seal win for Pakistan

Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi took four wickets each to give Pakistan a comfortable 51-run victory against Scotland in the ICC World Twenty20 Group D encounte

updated: September 17, 2007 15:26 IST
  • Total Shares


Umar Gul and Shahid Afridi took four wickets each to give Pakistan a comfortable 51-run victory against Scotland in the ICC World Twenty20 Group D encounter at Durban on Wdnesday.

Afridi, who scored 22 off seven balls and took 4 for 19 was named Man of The Match as Pakistan dismissed Scotland for 120 in 19.5 overs.

Umar Gul also took four wickets in a disciplined bowling performance.

The Scottish chase got derailed early on as they lost opener Ryan Watson(2), who was caught by Mohammad Hafeez on a Umar Gul delivery.

Gul struck again when he bowled out Navdeep Poonia for a mere 4 runs in the sixth over.

David Hamilton(2) was then sent back by Shahid Afridi after being caught by Gul.

Afridi fell heavy again after two balls when he dismissed Neil McCallum(0) as he got caught by Mohammad Asif.

Scotland wickets fell in quick succession as Fraser Watts(46) was caught by Imran Nazir off Mohammad Hafeez and Dougie Brown(1) was also caught by Nazir off a Afridi delivery.

Gul, then also took it upon himself to seal Pakistan's victory as he took two wickets in succession. He bowled out Craig Wright(14) and John Blain(0) in the 16th over.

The final blow was struck by Mohammad Asif when he bowled out Majid Haq(14) in the last over, taking Pakistan to victory.

Younis' cameo

Younis Khan's 41 off 42 balls took Pakistan total to 171 for nine in after being put into bat by the Scotland captain Ryan Watson.

Pakistan lost opener Imran Nazir early when he was caught by Gavin Hamilton off a John Blain delivery in the second over itself.

Mohammad Hafeez and Salman Butt started off slowly with the run rate of only three in the first four overs. This made Dewald Nel the only bowler so far to have bowled a maiden in his first over on Twenty20 debut.

Towards the fifth over Pakistan lost another wicket when Salman Butt was caught by Navdeep Poonia on a Blain delivery.

Towards the ninth over, Pakistan picked up steam and their run rate was close to about 7 per over and were looking to put up a formidable target for the Scots.

Pakistan suffered a further blow in the seventh over when Mohammad Hafeez was caught and bowled by CM Wright for 18.

The twelfth over saw the fall of Shohaib Malik(11) when he was stumped by CJO Smith on a ball by Majid Haq.

Shahid Afridi, who came next hit off the first ball with a massive six and thundered shots all over the park.

His hastiness led to his downfall as he was next to follow Malik after getting caught by Haq at a Wright delivery for 22(7).

Younis Khan was caught by Fraser Watts next for 41 and added another wicket to the tally of Haq.

The end of the 18th over saw Misbah-ul-Haq(23) bowled by Wright. Nel took the wicket of Kamran Akmal when he was caught by Watts in the very next over. He struck again to take his wicket tallt to two by bowling out Yasir Arafat for 17 in the last over.


Pakistan: Salman Butt, Imran Nazir, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Shahid Afridi, Misbah-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Asif, Umar Gul, Yasir Arafat.

Scotland: Ryan Watson, Fraser Watts, Navdeep Poonia, Gavin Hamilton, Neil McCallum, Dougie Brown, CJO Smith, Majid Haq, Craig Wright, John Blain, Dewald Nel.