Sri Lanka beat Kenya by 172 runs

Sri Lanka beat Kenya by 172 runs in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup Group C encounter at Johannesburg on Friday.

updated: September 18, 2007 15:06 IST
  • Total Shares


Sri Lanka beat Kenya by 172 runs in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup Group C encounter at Johannesburg on Friday.

Sanath Jayasuriya was the Man of the Match for his thundering knock of 88 from 44 balls, during which he smashed four sixes and 11 fours.

In reply to the mammoth Sri Lankan total of 260, DO Obuya(32) was the only batsman from Kenya who could resist the Islanders' pace attack.

The Kenyan slide started early with Chaminda Vaas dismissing opener MA Ouma (0), trapping him leg-before; he then bowled out N Odhiambo for 5.

In their bid to keep their hopes alive the Kenyan batsmen attempted to take on the Sri Lankan bowling, but their efforts were in vain as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals.

In the final over, Kenya were at 88 for 9 when the match ended as T Odoyo did not come out to bat owing to an injury.

Earlier, Kenya won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat first.

The Lankans got off to a romping start with veteran opener Sanath Jayasuriya smashed the ball to all corners of the park, before holding out to short mid-on.

Meanwhile, skipper Mahela Jayawardene, who shared an 87-run stand with Jayasuriya, stroked a breathtaking 65 to ensure that the Sri Lankans maintained the momentum. Jayawardene was eventually trapped leg-before by Kamande.

After their heroics, Jehan Mubarak stepped up to the plate and butchered the Kenyan bowling, scoring 46 of 13 balls with five sixes and 3 boundaries. In fact, the final two overs of the Sri Lankan innings yeilded 45 runs.

For Kenya, Kamande took three wickets while Odhiambo and Odoyo sent back one batsman each.

With this win, the Sri Lankans now top the Group C table, while Kenya, which lost its first game against New Zealand, will be heading home after a dismal showing.


Sri Lanka:WU Tharanga, ST Jayasuriya, KC Sangakkara, DPMD Jayawardene, TM Dilshan, LPC Silva, J Mubarak, G Wijekoon, CRD Fernando, SL Malinga, WPUJC Vaas

Kenya:MA Ouma, DO Obuya, T Mishra, SO Tikolo, TM Odoyo, CO Obuya, A Obanda, JK Kamande, N Odhiambo, PJ Ongondo, LN Onyango