Hayden takes Aussies to next round

Chasing a mere 135, Australia smashed their way into the next round trouncing England by 8 wickets in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup encounter at Cape Town

updated: September 18, 2007 15:06 IST
  • Total Shares

Cape Town:

Chasing a mere 135, Australia smashed their way into the next round trouncing England by 8 wickets in the ICC Twenty20 World Cup encounter at Cape Town on Friday.

The result of this match has its effect on the Zimbabwean team as it will now be out of the tournament due to a lower net run rate as compared to England, though the points are the same for both teams.

Nathan Bracken was given the Man of the Match award for his splendid 4-wicket haul. Matthew Hayden(67) took the onus upon himself to lead Australia and remained unbeaten throughout.

Openers Adam Gilchrist and Hayden, cut loose hammering the English bowlers to all corners of the park. They put up a 78-run partnership before Gilchrist was caught by Flintoff for 45 on a ball by Chris Schofield.

Andrew Flintoff then struck albeit late when he caught and bowled captain Ricky Ponting for 20 runs.

Pacers cripple England batsmen

Mitchell Johnson(4-0-22-3) and Nathan Bracken(4-0-16-3) put up a one of the best bowling figures in a Twenty20 match triggering an England batting collapse.

Giving a little credit to England batsmen, Andrew Flintoff, Darren Maddy and Kevin Pieterson tried to set a tone by putting up some figures but could only manage to reach only early 20'and 30's.

Openers Matt Prior and Maddy gave England a headstart with a 37-run opening partnership scoring at an average of 6 runs before Prior was sent back by Johnson for 17.

Luke Wright(3) was then caught by Adam Gilchrist in the sixth over, bowled by Johnson. Maddy(20) then followed him in the next over by Michael Clarke when he got caught by Mike Hussey.

Captain Paul Collingwood was dismissed by Brett Lee when a LBW decision went the latter's way for 18. The 14th over saw Pietersen getting bowled by Bracken for 21.

Flintoff's(31) big hitting got him caught by Stuart Clark on a ball by Johnson. Following him in the same manner was Owais Shah(14) after he was taken by Clarke off a Bracken delivery.

The lower order collapsed without making much of a differnence as most wickets fell in quick succession starting from Chris Schofield(1) getting caught by Gilchrist on a ball by Clark. Following him was Dimtri Mascarenhas being run out for 4.

England's innings closed when Stuart Broad was bowled by Bracken after scoring only one run.

Both the sides have made one change in their playing XI. Australia bring in Michael Clarke for Brad Haddin, while for England James Kirtley comes in for Jimmy Anderson.

The match has taken on extra significance after Zimbabwe's shock victory in the opening rubber of Group B. If Australia fail to secure a victory, they will be on their way home.


Australia: Adam Gilchrist (wk), Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting (capt), Andrew Symonds, Mike Hussey, Brad Hodge, Michael Clarke, Brett Lee, Mitchell Johnson, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark.

England: Darren Maddy, Matt Prior (wk), Luke Wright, Kevin Pietersen, Paul Collingwood (capt), Andrew Flintoff, Owais Shah, Dimitri Mascarenhas, Chris Schofield, Stuart Broad, James Kirtley.