Lanka win by 64 runs, B'desh out of cup

Chasing 148, Bangladesh was bundled up for 83 against Sri Lanka in their Super Eights of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup at Johanessburg on Tuesday.

updated: September 25, 2007 06:35 IST
  • Total Shares


Chasing 148, Bangladesh was bundled up for 83 against Sri Lanka in their Super Eights of the ICC Twenty20 World Cup at Johannesburg on Tuesday.

The Man of the Match was given to Dilhara Fernando for his bowling figures of 3-1-21-2.

Powered by a disciplined bowling performance Sri Lanka won by 64 runs even though they were defending a low target.

The first over by Chaminda Vaas saw Nazimuddin caught leg before wicket for a duck. Dilhara Fernando struck twice in his second over, first Tamim Iqbal(3) got caught by Lasith Malinga and one ball later Aftab Ahmed was bowled for 18.

Vaas added the wicket of captain Mohammad Ashraful(4) to his tally as Tillakaratne Dilshan caught him at point.Nadif Chowdhury was next to follow him as he was run out for 5. Shakib Al Hasan was bowled by Farveez Maharoof in the 10th over for 18.

A direct hit at the baller's end by Kumara Sangakkara put away Mushfiqur Rahim after he scored a mere one run.

Sanath Jayasuriya added a wicket to his tally when Mahmud Ullah(16) top-edged a catch to Jehan Mubarak. Three balls later the innings came to an end when Sangakkara caught Syed Rasel for 0.

Sril Lanka falls at 147

Earlier, Sri Lanka was restricted to its lowest total of 147 for five by Bangladesh.

Tillakaratne Dilshan and Jehan Mubarak put an unbeated partnership of 51 off 31 balls, which managed to take the Lankans to 147.

Sanath Jayasuriya fell on the first ball that he faced when he was caught by Mahmud Ullah off a Mashrafe Mortaza dellivery.

Following him back was Upul Tharanga(23) when Mushfiqur Rahim caught him on a ball by Syed Rasel.

New comer Ullah bowled out Kumara Sangakkara for 20 runs as he tried to run down the pitch and look for a big hit.

Chamara Silva was caught leg before wicket by Shakib Al Hasan after he scored 12 runs.

Captain Mahela Jayawardene tried to stabilize the score but an inside edge on Abdur Razzak's ball got him bowled for 30 runs.

Bangladesh has made two changes. Alok Kapali and Farhad Reza have been dropped for Nadif Chowdhury and Mahmud Ullah.

For Sri Lanka, Farvez Mahroof comes in for Gayan Wijekoon.


Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Nazimuddin, Aftab Ahmed, Mohammad Ashraful (capt), Shakib Al Hasan, Nadif Chowdhury, Mahmud Ullah, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mashrafe Mortaza, Syed Rasel, Abdur Razzak.

Sri Lanka: Upul Tharanga, Sanath Jayasuriya, Kumara Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Chamara Silva, Jehan Mubarak, Farveez Maharoof, Dilhara Fernando, Chaminda Vaas, Lasith Malinga