Ind brush aside Aus T20 challenge

India registered a commanding win against Australia in their one-off T-20 encounter at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

updated: October 22, 2007 18:19 IST
  • Total Shares


India registered a commanding win against Australia in their one-off T-20 encounter at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

While the Indian bowlers restricted the Australians to 166 for 5, the Indian batsmen - led by opener Gautam Gambhir - knocked off the runs with ease in 18.1 overs for the loss of just three wickets.

Gambhir, taking off from T20 World Championship finals against Pakistan, scored a brilliant 63 in 52 balls, including six boundaries and one six.

He was well supported by the aggressive Robin Uthappa (35) and the classy Yuvraj Singh scoring an unbeaten 31 in 25 balls, which included three huge sixes and one boundary.

Gambhir was awarded the Man of the Match award for his brilliant innings.

With this win, India have maintained not only maintained their edge over the ODI champions in the shortest version of the game but also built much-needed momentum before heading down under later this year.

India's shaky start

Earlier, the Indian innings got off to a shaky start with openers Virender Sehwag and Gambhir being watchful against the Australian opening pace duo of Brett Lee and Nathan Bracken.

The rusty Sehwag (5) didn't last long, edging a Lee delivery for a comfortable catch to wicket-keeper Adam Gilchrist.

But a quick-fire 82-run partnership between Uthappa and Gambhir threatened to take the game away from the Australians.

Their charge was curtailed by part-time left-arm spinner Michael Clarke struck in the 11th over, as Uthappa was caught behind.

Thereafter, while Gambhir fell post an exciting half-century, Yuvraj Singh tore into the Aussie bowlers and, along with skipper MS Dhoni, propelled India to a famous win, which was sealed with a trademark Dhoni six.

Aus win toss

The day began with Australia winning the toss and electing to bat.

The Australian innings got off to a shaky start with Adam Gilchrist falling in the very first over.

Despite Gilchrist's (12) wicket - bowled by RP Singh - Aussie skipper Ricky Ponting led the assault against the Indian bowlers, smashing a blistering 76 off 53 balls, which included 13 boundaries.

After Gilchrist's dismissal, Ponting shared a crucial 48-run partnership with Mathew Hayden (17).

However, just when it seemed that things were getting out of hand, Hayden dragged a Harbhajan Singh delivery back onto his stumps.

Hayden's fall brought the Andrew Symonds to the wicket, but the dangerous right-hander didn't last long, as he was run out by Harbhajan Singh after scoring 20 runs.

Thereafter, Brad Hodge (2) joined Ponting, but failed to contribute significantly, as he was bowled by Irfan Pathan in the 15th over.

Michael Clarke (24*) then joined Ponting as they looked to attack the Indian bowlers in the final few overs.

Although they struggled to impose themselves on the Indian bowlers, the 18th over brought some respite as and undisciplined Sreesanth was taken for 22 runs.

Ponting fell in the 19th over bowled by Irfan Pathan in a bid to further accelerate the scoring.

For the Indians, spinners Harbhajan Singh and Murali Karthik were the key, as they strangled the Australian batsmen. Singh was especially economical, giving away just 17 runs in his four overs while picking up one wicket.

India Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Robin Uthappa, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Rohit Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Murali Kartik, Harbhajan Singh, RP Singh, S Sreesanth.

Australia: Matthew Hayden, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Andrew Symonds, Michael Clarke, Brad Hodge, Brett Lee, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Brad Haddin, BW Hilfenhaus.