South Africa send New Zealand in to bat

South Africa won the toss and sent New Zealand in to bat in the first one-day international at Kingsmead on Sunday.

updated: November 26, 2007 16:12 IST
  • Total Shares

DURBAN, South Africa:

Graeme Smith won the toss in his 100th match as captain of South Africa on Sunday at the Kingsmead Stadium and sent New Zealand in to bat in the first of three one-day internationals against New Zealand.

South Africa won the Test series 2-0, and won the Twenty20 international by three wickets last on Friday.

New Zealand's Jacob Oram was still not fit after injuring a hamstring in the Test series, and Mathew Sinclair was brought into the team to bolster the batting. Fast bowler Chris Martin returned from injury to replace Michael Mason who was expensive in the Twenty20 match.

South Africa brought in Morne van Wyk to open the batting with Smith as Herschelle Gibbs still has a knee injury. Vernon Philander and Dale Steyn missed out after playing in the Twenty20 and were replaced by Andre Nel and Makhaya Ntini.


South Africa: Graeme Smith (captain), Morne van Wyk, J.P. Duminy, Jacques Kallis, A.B. de Villiers, Mark Boucher, Shaun Pollock, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Andre Nel, Makhaya Ntini.

New Zealand: Lou Vincent, Brendon McCullum, Jamie How, Ross Taylor, Scott Styris, Mathew Sinclair, Gareth Hopkins, Daniel Vettori (captain), Kyle Mills, Mark Gillespie, Chris Martin.

Umpires: Mark Benson, England and Brian Jerling, South Africa.

TV umpire: Marais Erasmus, South Africa. Match referee: Javagal Srinath, India.