SRK, Ambani, Mallya win IPL bids

The Indian Premier League on Thursday received an overwhelming response, with Mukesh Ambani, Vijay Mallya and Shah Rukh Khan winning bids.

updated: April 19, 2008 11:19 IST
  • Total Shares


The high-profile Indian Premier League (IPL) on Thursday received an overwhelming response with some of India's top industrialists like Mukesh Ambani and Vijay Mallya and film stars Shah Rukh Khan and Preity Zinta winning bids to own teams in the Twenty20 venture.

After prolonged suspense, BCCI vice president and Chairman of the IPL Governing Council Lalit Modi disclosed the names of the winning bidders, who shelled out staggering amounts to be owner of the city-based teams.

Reliance Industries chief Mukesh Ambani pipped Vijay Mallya to win the bid for the Mumbai team for $111.9 million.

The liquor baron, however, won the bid for the Bangalore team for $111.6 million.

Actor Shah Rukh Khan, joining hands with Juhi Chawla and Jay Mehta, won the bid for the Kolkata team for $75.09 million.

Fellow actor Preity Zinta and her boy friend Ness Wadia won the bid for the Mohali team for USD 76 million.

Among others, GMR Holdings won the bid for the Delhi team ($84 million), India Cements bagged the Chennai team ($91 million), Deccan Chronicle bid successfully for the Hyderabad ($107.01 million) outfit and Emerging Media won the bid for the Jaipur team for $67 million.

The bids of the ICICI, Sahara and Futures Group were disqualified, Modi said.