Players' families celebrate U-19 win

Captain Virat Kohli plans to celebrate the World Cup by buying a big car.

updated: March 03, 2008 16:00 IST
  • Total Shares

Kuala Lumpur:

Virat Kohli has the distinction is being the fifth Indian captain to win a cricket world title. Kapil Dev won the big one in 1983, Reetinder Singh Sodhi lifted the Under-15 title in 1996, Mohammad Kaif won the Under-19 title in 2000 and then MS Dhoni won the Twenty20 title last year.

But that wasn't all of he was thinking of after the win.

"I am planning to buy a Honda Civic," Virat said in Kuala Lumpur shortly after India beat South Africa on Sunday to win the U-19 title for the second time.

Celebrations followed, not just in KL but far away from the Kinrara Oval too. Indians celebrated their twin wins on Super Sunday. The excitement was most pronounced in the hometowns of the winning team.

Virat's sister in New Delhi said, "I told him in the morning that you have to win the World Cup and he has gone and won it. There are going to be celebrations all night."

In Kolkata, Sreevats Goswami's father said, "I am feeling thrilled that Sreevats is my son, he has done me proud by being part of a World Cup-winning team."

In Jamshedpur, Saurabh Tiwary's grandmother said, "When he comes I will give him a big hug and a kiss."

The junior team's win is remarkable. India were unbeaten in the tournament and they defeated teams like England and New Zealand en route to the final. Tanmay Srivastava ended as the top scorer with 262 runs and an average of 52.

In the final, when the batsmen failed to click, the bowlers stepped in to make sure the trophy was India's.

Ajay Jadeja, former ODI captain said if they win at under-19 level they get exposure at higher level and they pick up a champion mentality.

The victory has projected India as an emerging cricket super power and experts believe the grit and maturity shown by these cricketers indicate they have the potential to do well at the international level.

It won't be surprising to see some of these names on the victorious Indian teams making their mark even on the IPL score sheet.