Kings XI Punjab outshine Delhi Daredevils

Kings XI Punjab beat Delhi Daredevils by four wickets in Mohali and recorded their second win of the DLF IPL tournament.

updated: May 03, 2008 18:10 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

Delhi Daredevils' hopes of continuing their winning spree were dashed in Mohali as Kings XI Punjab beat them by four wickets and recorded their second win of the DLF IPL tournament.

Kings XI did not start well despite restricting Delhi Daredevils for 158 runs as they lost two wickets in first two overs. But they recovered from the early hiccups with the help of Simon Katich's knock of 75 runs and Yuvraj Singh's unbeaten 40.

Glenn McGrath started off in the way only he can and made early roads in the Kings XI batting line-up with Karan Goel's wicket.

Mohd. Asif followed the bowling pro and struck in the second over and got dangerman Kumar Sangakkara, who drove Punjab to their first win.

Simon Katich and Mahela Jayawardene took up the repair job before Shoaib Malik took a brilliant return catch of the latter and sent him for 15 runs. Simon Katich, who continued with his job and was well adjudged as the Man of the Match, had a winning sign off from the tournament as he along with his compatriot Brett Lee will be returning to Australia on Monday.

Yuvraj Singh, captain of Kings XI, deserves special applause as he led from the front on all occasions and was looking much more in command as compared to previous matches. He was pretty much himself with the bat, clipped Karthik's wicket and was a pro-active leader while fielding.

Earlier, Daredevils had won the toss and elected to bat first but Kings XI bowlers did not let them get hold of the game and picked wickets at regular intervals. No Delhi batsman could go after the Punjab bowlers and play an anchor's role. Manoj Tiwary was the top scorer with crucial 39 runs.

VRV Singh was pick of the bowlers for Punjab as he picked three crucial wickets. He first dismissed in-form Gautam Gambhir (18) followed by Shoaib Malik (16) and Manoj Tiwary (39).

Irfan Pathan got rid of Virender Sehwag (6) and Rajat Bhatia (17). Brett Lee and Yuvraj Singh picked one wicket apiece.

Lee got Shikhar Dhawan for a duck while Yuvraj got Karthik. Brett Lee short pitched his delivery, which bounced more than Shikhar Dhawan had anticipated and was caught by Sangakkara behind the wicket. The replays later showed that ball had brushed his shoulder before landing in keeper's gloves. Yuvraj deceived and castled Dinesh Karthik (24) with his left-arm spin.