Royal Challengers to face Deccan Chargers

Languishing at the bottom half of the points table with a string of defeats, Bangalore Royal Challengers take on equally struggling Deccan Chargers.

updated: May 13, 2008 12:49 IST
  • Total Shares


Languishing at the bottom half of the points table with a string of defeats, Bangalore Royal Challengers will have to quickly find a winning combination as they take on an equally struggling Deccan Chargers in the Indian Premier League on Saturday.

Both the teams have managed only one win and that too against the same team - Mumbai Indians - and it will be more of a fight for honour as the two sides battle for supremacy.

With their tottering top order becoming a matter of concern, the Bangalore Royal Challengers will rely a lot on Pakistan's Misbah-ul-Haq, who replace Ross Taylor, to strengthen the batting line up.

Jacques Kallis, who hit a blistering fifty in their last match, has to ensure that he continues to contribute with both bat and bowl, while skipper Rahul Dravid also has to prove a point.

The visitors, who lost Kings XI Punjab on Thursday, will have to pull up their socks and ensure that Adam Gilchrist and the newly-inducted Herschelle Gibbs fire on all cylinders, with some firework from out-of-form Pakistani swashbuckler Shahid Afridi and Rohit Sharma, who scored a brilliant 42-ball 76 in the last outing.

Deccan Chargers, who are placed higher than the Bangalore team in the chart, have a decent bowling line-up with RP Singh and Zoysa leading the pace attack.

However, the hosts, will be hoping for the return of ace spinner Anil Kumble, who is nursing a groin injury, to add teeth to the bowling attack lead which also has Kallis and Zaheer Khan.

In fact, both teams will have to put their problems behind them ahead of their important clash to get back into the victory mode in the high-profile Twenty20 championship.

Deccan Chargers: VVS Laxman (Captain), Sanjay Bangar, Haldhar Das (wk), Herchelle Gibbs, Scott Styris, Adam Gilchrist (wk), Andrew Symonds, D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, D Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Y Venugopal Rao, P Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Rahul Dravid (Captain), Jacques Kallis, Wasim Jaffer, Virat Kohli, Mark Boucher, Cameron White, Balachandra Akhil, Ashley Noffke, Praveen Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Sunil Joshi, Abdur Razzak, KP Appanna, J Arunkumar, Devraj Patil, Bharat Chipli, Misbah-ul-Haq, Ross Taylor, KP Appanna, Vinay Kumar, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Shreevats Goswami.