Mumbai Indians throttle Knight Riders by 8 wickets

Bundling Kolkata Knight Riders for a paltry 67 runs, the lowest score of the IPL, Mumbai Indians reached the target in just 5.3 overs.

updated: May 23, 2008 12:09 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

Now this is called a crushing defeat! Mumbai Indians trampled Kolkata Knight Riders by 8 wickets in their second encounter of the DLF IPL at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

With this win, Mumbai have not only boosted their chances of making it to the semis but also snatched Kolkata's fourth place in points table. Kolkata have now slipped to the sixth place.

After bundling Knight Riders for a paltry 67 runs, Mumbai Indians reached the target in just 5.3 overs losing two wickets. This is the lowest total of the DLF Indian Premier League.

Defending a small total of 67 runs, the Kolkata Knight Riders struck in the first over and saw Sachin Tendulkar back in the hut for naught. Their strike bowler Shoaib Akhtar tested Sachin with a couple of deliveries and the 'maestro' finally perished. Next to depart was Robin Uthappa.

But these two wickets did not panic Jayasuriya who carried his form from the last game and slammed an unbeaten 52 runs.

From toss to home support to winning runs, everything went in Mumbai's favour from the very outset of the game.

Mumbai bowlers were spot on their target and did not let any of the Kolkata batsmen to stay longer at the crease. The highest score in Kolkata innings was 15 scored by Sourav Ganguly and Ajit Agarkar. No batsmen, other than Ganguly, Butt and Agarkar, could reach the double figure mark.

Shaun Pollock, in his magical spell of four overs, picked three wickets and made early inroads in the Kolkata batting. Other bowlers followed the suit and kept digging further. Dwayne Bravo, Dominic Thornely and Rohan Raje picked two wickets apiece. Pollock was, rightly, adjudged as the 'Man of the Match'.

Interestingly, Mumbai captain Sachin Tendulkar seemed everywhere when a wicket fell as he himself took four catches.

Knight Riders started off defensively against Pollock and Nehra. Salman Butt went for 13 runs as Tendulkar comfortably took a catch off Pollock's bowling at the first slip. In the very next ball, Uthappa and Pollock ran out Aakash Chopra.

Chopra's dismissal brought in David Hussey, but Pollock hunted him down and Hussey left with just two runs to his credit. In the last over of his spell, Pollock took Hafeez's wicket.

Dwayne Bravo removed WP Saha for 1 and Ajit Agarkar, while young medium pacer Rohan Raje bowled Laxmi Ratan Shukla for zero and Shoaib Akhtar for 2.

Talking Pictures:

Top Five Captains in IPL
New stars twinkle on the IPL horizon
Five most exciting contests