Mumbai Indians eye sixth win on the trot

After their victory over Kolkata, a spirited Mumbai Indians will look forward to garner some points in their IPL clash with Deccan Chargers on Sunday.

updated: May 23, 2008 12:11 IST
  • Total Shares


After their thumping victory over Kolkata Knight Riders, a spirited Mumbai Indians will look forward to garner some vital points in their Indian Premier League clash with hosts Deccan Chargers on Sunday.

In their last two matches, Mumbai Indians have rode on Sanath Jayasuriya's explosive batting to notch up valuable wins and the Sachin Tendulkar-led side will want to repeat it again against the Chargers at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium to move one step closer to the semifinals.

The pitch is expected to be a favourable one for the batsmen and the strong batting line-up of the Mumbai Indians would like to put up a big total on the board by batting first if they win the toss.

Apart from the envious opening pair of Jayasuriya and Tendulkar, Robin Uthappa and West Indian Dwayne Bravo are the other key members of the visitors' batting line-up.

The team's bowling attack also looks decent. Led by South African Shaun Pollock, whose three-wicket haul devastated the Kolkata Knight Riders on Friday, it has bowlers like Ashish Nehra and Bravo in it.

The Mumbai team has won five of their 10 matches it has played so far and now requires at least three wins out of the five remaining matches to book a semifinal berth.

For the Deccan Chargers, led by Australian stumper-batsman Adam Gilchrist, the match is an opportunity to regain some pride as the team has not won a single match at home so far.

Their star-studded batting line up -- consisting of Gilchrist, Rohit Sharma, Herschelle Gibbs, Shahid Afridi and Scott Styris, Venugopal Rao -- will be encouraged with their performance against the Delhi Daredevils though they lost the match narrowly.

In the bowling department, RP Singh, Sri Lankan Chaminda Vaas, Styris and young left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha will have to click if they want to register their second win before the home crowd.

Deccan Chargers: Adam Gilchrist (capt), Sanjay Bangar, Haldhar Das (wk), H Gibbs, Scott Styris, D Kalyan Krishna, Pragyan Ojha, D Ravi Teja, PM Sarvesh Kumar, Shahid Afridi, Rohit Sharma, RP Singh, Chamara Silva, Chaminda Vaas, Y Venugopal Rao, P Vijay Kumar, Arjun Yadav, Nuwan Zoysa.

Mumbai Indians: Sachin Tendulkar (captain), Sanath Jayasuriya, Luke Ronchi (wk), Ajinkya Rahane, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Shaun Pollock, Loots Bosman, Dominic Thornely, Manish Pandey, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Aniket Chavan, Siddharth Chitnis, Gaurav Dhiman, Dilhara Fernando, Musavir Khote, Dhawal Kulkarni, Rajesh Pawar, Saurabh Tiwary, Ashwell Prince, Rohan Raje, Pinal Shah (wk), Swapnil Singh, Yogesh Takawale (wk) and Vikr Yeligati.