Shaun Tait named in 30 probables list for CT

Shaun Tait is back in the mix as Australia announced a list of 30 probables for the Champions Trophy.

updated: July 13, 2008 07:54 IST
  • Total Shares


Shaun Tait is back in the mix as Australia on Thursday announced a list of 30 probables for the Champions Trophy scheduled in Pakistan from September 11-28.

Tait, who sought a sabbatical from international cricket in January citing mental and physical exhaustion, is set to be back in action in Pakistan even though fellow paceman Ben Hilfenhaus was ruled out due to injury.

"Ben Hilfenhaus was not considered for selection as he recovers from injury, while Shaun Tait has been included as he continues his extensive rehabilitation program to resume playing cricket. Shaun had a significant impact in our World Cup victory and at his best is a formidable weapon in one-day cricket," chief selector Andrew Hilditch said.

"The National Selection Panel is very pleased with the squad of 30 selected for the ICC Champions Trophy. It will be trimmed to 15 next month as we finalise our preparation for Australia 's defence of the trophy.

"The squad recognises the continued success of the one-day side and its outstanding efforts in the West Indies , together with the strong performance of our young emerging talent in the Ford Ranger Cup," Hilditch added.

Young spinner Beau Casson got the boot while rookie quartet of Xavier Doherty, Ryan Harris, Brett Geeves and Tim Paine found a mention in recognition of their successful Ford Ranger Cup seasons last year.

"The squad includes several young spinners, and closer to final selection a decision will be made as to the make-up of the squad and whether a specialist spinner needs to be added to the final 15. Beau Casson is unlucky to miss out after a promising start in Test cricket but needs more exposure in one-day cricket before being considered for Australian selection," Hilditch said.

The deadline for submitting the names of the final squad of 15 players is August 11.

The preliminary squad: Ricky Ponting, Michael Clarke, George Bailey, Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Stuart Clark, Dan Cullen, Xavier Doherty, Brett Geeves, Ryan Harris, Brad Haddin, Nathan Hauritz, Matthew Hayden, Brad Hodge, James Hopes, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Phil Jaques, Mitchell Johnson, Simon Katich, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Ashley Noffke, Tim Paine, Luke Ronchi, Andrew Symonds, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, Shane Watson, Cameron White.