Top honours for Chanders, Dhoni, Steyn

MS Dhoni is ICC's ODI Cricketer of the Year. Dale Steyn was the Best Test Cricketer, while Shivnarine Chanderpaul took the top honours.

updated: September 15, 2008 14:31 IST
  • Total Shares


Shivnarine Chanderpaul was named the Cricketer of the Year, the top prize at ICC's Annual Awards, at a ceremony in Dubai on Wednesday evening.

India's ODI captain M.S. Dhoni was the ODI Cricketer of the Year, while his deputy, Yuvraj Singh took the Twenty20 Performance of the Year prize.

Virender Sehwag was the other Indian in the limelight. He was the only Indian name in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

Sachin Tendulkar, who was nominated for the ODI award, was named in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Dale Steyn, who spearheaded South Africa to numerous Test wins, was named the Test Cricketer of the Year, while Sri Lanka's spin sensation Ajantha Mendis was the Emerging Cricketer of the Year, beating off competition from Ishant Sharma, among others.

Sri Lanka won the Spirit of Cricket award, which is given to teams that receive the best rating for fair play, respect for players and rules.

Australian umpire Simon Taufel won the Umpire of the Year for the fifth straight time.

Ryan ten Doeschate of the Netherlands was the Associate Player of the Year.