Rockets thrash Tigers, win by 10 wickets

Host Ahmedabad Rockets thrashed the Royal Bengal Tigers to win the match by 10 wickets in the ICL 20-20 championship at the Sardar Patel stadium.

updated: October 26, 2008 09:38 IST
  • Total Shares


Host Ahmedabad Rockets thrashed the Royal Bengal Tigers to win the match by 10 wickets in the Indian Cricket League (ICL) 20-20 championship at the Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel stadium here.

Chasing a small total of 132 set by the Tigers, the impeccable Rockets scored 137 in just 12 overs without losing any wickets.

Openers Murray Goodwin and Ryan Campbell thrashed that Tiger bowlers all round the field providing some great entertainment to the home crowd.

Goodwin scored 66 in 38 ball (4x10, 6x1), while Campbell hit 66 in 35 balls (4x8, 6x4).

The Tigers seem lost as the two openers began their onslaught from the very first ball. Non of the Tiger bowlers were able to get a breakthrough.

Earlier, the Tigers won the toss and elected to bat.

They had a steady start but lost steam after the wicket of opener Deep Dasgupta in the fourth over for 11 runs.

Skipper Craig McMillan put up good partnership with Rohan Gavaskar for the Tigers, giving some hope for a good target. But Mc Millan got out in the 15th over for 21 in 25 balls. Gavaskar soon followed his skipper to the pavilion after scoring 15 runs.

Some exceptional bowling by Bhima Roa helped Rockets get rid of the tail enders. Rao ended with figures of 4/15 in three overs. Sridharan Sriram was another successful bowler for the Rockets who bagged two wickets for 23 runs. The Tigers were bundled up for 131 in 20 overs.

With this win the Rockets have two wins in their pockets.

Brief Scores: Royal Bengal Tigers 131 all out in 20 overs (McMillan 21, Klusener 20, Marshall 20, Bhima Rao 4/15) Ahmedabad Rockets: 137 for no loss in 12 overs (Goodwin 61, Campbell 66).