Taufel, Baxter to officiate in Champions League T20 final

Top ICC Elite Panel umpires Simon Taufel and Gary Baxter will officiate in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 in Chennai on December 10.

updated: November 22, 2008 12:11 IST
  • Total Shares


Top ICC Elite Panel umpires Simon Taufel of Australia and New Zealand's Gary Baxter will officiate in the final of the Champions League Twenty20 tournament to be played at Chennai's M Chidambaram Stadium on December 10.

India's S Venkatraghavan has been named as the match referee for the three matches to be held at Mumbai's Brabourne Stadium on December 3, 4 and 5, less than a fortnight before the second and final India-England Test is played at the same venue, which is to see Test cricket's return after 35 years.

Billy Bowden of New Zealand, ICC elite panel umpire Amish Sahiba of India and Marais Erasmus will officiate in all Mumbai matches, according to tournament Director Dhiraj Malhotra.

The two semi-finals will be supervised by Daryl Harper of Australia and Pakistan's Asad Rauf on December 8 (Bangalore) and Taufel and India's Shahvir Tarapore on December 9 (Chennai).

Kiwi Jeff Crowe has been appointed the match referee while Rauf, Harper and India's Suresh Shastri will be the three umpires for all Bangalore matches.

Sri Lanka's Roshan Mahanama will be the match referee, whereas Taufel, Baxter and Tarapore will be the umpires for all the matches in Chennai.

Eight teams, including IPL champions and runners-up Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings, Western Australia Warriors and Victoria Bushrangers, South Africa T20 Champions Titans and runners-up Dolphins, along with the T20 champions of Pakistan and England - Sialkot Stallions and Middlesex - will take part in the December 3-10 tournament.