Ranji final: Mumbai clinch Ranji Trophy

Mumbai defeated Uttar Pradesh by 243 runs to clinch the Ranji Trophy for the 38th time Friday.

updated: January 16, 2009 17:26 IST
  • Total Shares


Sachin Tendulkar-inspired Mumbai won India's premier first-class tournament for the Ranji Trophy on Friday, thrashing Uttar Pradesh by 243 runs in the five-day final here.

Tendulkar, the world's leading run-getter in both Test and one-day cricket, made a rare domestic appearance in the semi-final and final following the cancellation of India's tour of Pakistan in the wake of the Mumbai terror attacks.

Tendulkar scored a century against Saurashtra in the semi-final, but managed only zero and four in the final at the Rajiv Gandhi stadium in this southern city.

Mumbai rode on a century in each innings by Rohit Sharma and a seven-wicket haul in the first innings by Test star Zaheer Khan to win the Ranji Trophy for the 38th time in the 75-year history of the tournament.

Uttar Pradesh, captained by former Test batsman Mohammad Kaif, had also lost last year's final to Virender Sehwag's Delhi.