Clarke pulls out of Indian Premier League

Australia vice-captain Michael Clarke says he will not play in this year's Indian Premier League.

updated: February 05, 2009 09:25 IST
  • Total Shares

New Delhi:

Australia vice-captain Michael Clarke on Thursday said he would not play in this year's Indian Premier League.

Clarke said he decided to skip the Twenty20 tournament because Australia has a busy international schedule coming up.

"I won't be going to the IPL,'' Clarke said. "The most important thing for me is we've only got a couple of weeks off, we've got a very busy schedule.

"With me, with my body and time with my family, I want time off this year.''

But Clarke said his decision did not mean that he could not understand why so many other players wanted to play in the Indian competition.

"It's a wonderful thing for cricket, it's definitely improved Twenty20 cricket, its played a part in improving one-day cricket,'' he said.

"The lead-up to the Twenty20 World Championships is the IPL so it's good preparation so it does not surprise me that a lot of players are going.''

Meanwhile, IPL Chairman Lalit Modi said Michael Clarke pulled out of the IPL because he was not getting the price he demanded.

Sr. noPlayerReserve Price (in US$)
1Aaron Bird45,000
2Brett Geeves45,000
3Bryce McGain 50,000
4Daniel Harris50,000
5Dominic Thornley50,000
6George Bailey 50,000
7Jonathan Moss50,000
8Michael Dighton85,000
9Michael Hill 50,000
10Phil Jacques100,000
11Shane Harwood75,000
12Shaun Tait250,000
13Steven Smith75,000
14Stuart Clark250,000
15Mashrafe Bin Mortaza50,000
16Mohammad Ashraful75,000
17Shakib Al Hasan75,000
18Tamim Iqbal50,000
19Andrew Flintoff950,000
20Kevin Pietersen1,350,000
21Luke Wright150,000
22Owais Shah150,000
23Paul Collingwood250,000
24Ravi Bopara150,000
25Samit Patel100,000
New Zealand
26James Franklin50,000
27Jesse Ryder100,000
28Kyle Mills150,000
South Africa
29Gulam Bodi100,000
30J P Duminy300,000
31Morne Van Wyk100,000
32Tyron Henderson100,000
33Yusuf Abdullah25,000
Sri Lanka
34Chamara Kapugadera150,000
35Kaushalya Weereratne50,000
36Nuwan Kulasekera100,000
37Thilan Thushara100,000
West Indies
38Dwayne SmithTBC
39Fidel Edwards150,000
40Jerome TaylorTBC
41Kemar Roach50,000
42Kieron Pollard60,000