Anjum Chopra to play in fourth successive World Cup

India's Anjum Chopra joined Karen Rolton and Charlotte Edwards to represent their respective countries in the fourth successive ICC Women's World Cup.

updated: February 09, 2009 12:49 IST
  • Total Shares


Former India skipper Anjum Chopra joined Australia Captain Karen Rolton and her England counterpart Charlotte Edwards who will all represent their respective countries in the fourth successive ICC Women's World Cup in Down Under from March 7-22.

All the eight countries, including India who will play under the leadership of Jhulan Goswami and defending champions Australia, have finalised their squads for the World Cup, ICC said in a statement on Monday.

Rolton, Edwards and Chopra made their World Cup debuts in India in 1997 and since then have been the flag-bearers for women's cricket.

Only 11 other cricketers have distinction of representing their countries in four or more World Cups with Debbie Hockley of New Zealand (1982, 1988, 1993, 1997 and 2000) and Englishwoman Clare Taylor (1988, 1993, 1997, 2000 and 2005) holding the record of playing in five straight World Cups.

Chopra, who made her ODI debut against New Zealand in 1995 at the age of 17, has represented India in 109 ODIs and has scored 2,542 runs, including 455 from 19 World Cup ties.

Rolton, who was the ICC Women's Player of the Year in 2006, has played 131 ODIs, including 22 World Cup matches. She is just 349 runs short of leapfrogging compatriot Belinda Clark (4,844) to become the most successful batswoman.

England Captain Edwards has played 117 ODIs including 16 ODIs in World Cups. With 3,520 international runs, including 802 in World cups, she is fourth most successful batters behind Clark, Rolton and Hockley (4,064).

"My suggestion to the players would be to enjoy this opportunity as only the World Cup provides you the chance to play against all the best teams in the world.

"The players also need to realise that this World Cup will provide them a unique experience with it being the first to be staged under the ICC's auspices," said Hockley, who has played a record 45 World Cup matches.

For the Pakistan women, it will be their first experience at the most prized tournament in women's cricket.

The teams have been divided into two groups as Australia, New Zealand, the West Indies and South Africa are in Group A while India, England, Sri Lanka and Pakistan are in Group B.

The top three sides in each group go forward to the Super Six stage where each side plays the teams which have qualified from the other group. The top two sides from the Super Six will clash in the final at North Sydney Oval, the release said.


India: Jhulan Goswami (Captain), Amita Sharma (Vice-captain), Anagha Deshpande, Anjum Chopra, Gouher Sultana, Harpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj, Poonam Raut, Priyanka Roy, Reema Malhotra, Rumeli Dhar, Snehal Pradhan, Sravanthi Naidu, Sulakshana Naik, Thirush Kamini.

Australia: Karen Rolton (Captain), Alex Blackwell (Vice-captain), Sarah Andrews, Jessica Cameron, Leonie Coleman, Lauren Ebsary, Rene Farrell, Jodie Fields, Delissa Kimmince, Shelley Nitschke, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Leah Poulton, Emma Sampson, Lisa Sthalekar.

England: Charlotte Edwards (Captain), Caroline Atkins, Katherine Brunt, Holly Colvin, Lydia Greenway, Lauren Griffiths, Isa Guha, Jenny Gunn, Laura Marsh, Beth Morgan, Ebony-Jewel Rainford-Brent, Nicola Shaw, Anya Shrubsole, Claire Taylor, Sarah Taylor.

New Zealand: Haidee Tiffen (Captain), Aimee Mason (Vice-captain), Suzie Bates, Nicola Browne, Abby Burrows, Sophie Devine, Lucy Doolan, Sara McGlashan, Beth McNeill, Katey Martin, Rachel Priest, Kate Pulford, Amy Satterthwaite, Sarah Tsukigawa.

Pakistan: Urooj Mumtaz (Captain), Sana Mir (Vice-captain), Almas Akram, Asmavia Iqbal, Armaan Khan, Batool Fatima, Bismah Maroof, Javeria Khan, Nain Abidi, Nahida Khan, Naila Nazir, Qanita Jalil, Sajjida Shah, Sania Khan, Sukhan Faiz.

South Africa: Sunette Loubser (Captain), Alicia Smith (Vice-captain), Susan Benade, Cri-Zelda Brits, Trisha Chetty, Mignon du Preez, Shandre Fritz, Shabnin Ismail, Ashlyn Kilowan, Marcia Letsoalo, Kirstie Thompson, Charlize van der Westhuizen, Yolandi van der Westhuizen, Dane van Niekerk, Claire Terblanche.

Sri Lanka: Shashikala Siriwardena (Captain), Chamani Seneviratne (Vice-captain), Suwini de Alwis, Hiruka Fernando, Rose Fernando, Inoka Galagedara, Gayathri Kariyawasam, Eshani Lokusooriya, Dilani Manodara, Chamari Polgampola, Udeshika Prabodani, Deepika Rasangika, Dedunu de Silva, Sripali Weerakkody, Chandi Wickremasinghe.

West Indies: Merissa Aguilleira (Captain), Kirbyina Alexander (Vice-captain), Shanel Daley, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Geneille Greaves, Cordel Jack, Stacy-Ann King, Pamela Lavine, Anisa Mohammed, Juliana Nero, Shakera Selman, Danielle Small, Charlene Taitt, Stefanie Taylor.