Bale, Suarez lead Premier League player of the year nominations

Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Robin van Persie (Manchester United) round off the nominee list.

updated: April 19, 2013 17:49 IST
  • Total Shares

London: The controversial Luis Suarez and Tottenham Hotspur's Gareth Bale lead the nominations for the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Player of the Year award, which were announced on Friday.

Bale, 23, is the favourite to win the prize for the second time in three seasons but Suarez has enjoyed a fine campaign with Liverpool, scoring a total of 29 goals, while Robin van Persie will hope to win the award for the second year in succession.

The Dutch striker has scored 25 goals since joining Manchester United from Arsenal last summer.

Show Full Article
  • Football
  • Manchester City
  • Chelsea
  • Manchester United
  • Tottenham Hotspur
  • Liverpool
  • Arsenal
  • Alex Ferguson
  • Gareth Bale
  • Juan Mata
  • Mark Hughes
  • Wayne Rooney
  • Michael Carrick
  • English Premier League